Only a matter of time part four 

Kevon foccused on the work. He was interested in every aspect of the ministry. He tried to stay focused even with thr distraction. He trued to keep the main thing the maine thing. Things were happening.  Things were changing. New people were attending the church. Kevin and his team were making conections. Kevin wanted not to just to get people to attend the church but to become a part of it. He wanted to maje friendship. He wanted to emphasize the family aspect of the church. He tried to get the team members to keep in mind that the church is a body. He stresed that every part of a body is esential. That was starting to materialize with kevin and his team. 

Kevin studied i.f.b evangelism past and present. The i.f.b is realy good at getting people into church,not so good at keeping them. Kevon wanted people to become part of the church. He wanted them to feel that they are esential parts of that local assambly. Kevin worked at that. Both kevin and the pastor wanted a church of new and newer converts. 

He wanted people saved,decipled ,then go out and and leed orhers to Christ and they would desiple them. Unfortunately they did not always happen in i.f.b churches. The pastor wanted this church to folow that formula. He hoped that that would become a foundation of the church long after he left.  He wanted it to be the leading philosophy of the church. 

The church had continued to reach out to the surrounding area. They had met a lot of peoole. They did get plenty of rejection. They had plenty of meeningfull conversation as well. They were starting to see results.the team had a good reputation. They were seen as friendly and genuine.  They had the joy of the lord. 

He did not hear from becky during the week. He did see her face book posts. She often posted Christian music videos,penticoastal speakers .she seemed to be a star trek fan.she liked xmen and read armish romance novels.  Normally he might be offended she amused him. 

He posted updates of ministries he was involved in.  He posted pics.he shared king james bible verses. He qoated from i.f.b speakers past and present. Becky did like some of his post. She comented on them as well.  

He was very buisy. He hardly had time to miss her. When he did stop and smel the roses,he realized that he did miss her. He decided to give her a call. He nervously dialed her number. “Hi this is becky. I am probably evevangelizing or reading a sci fi novels etc. Please leave a messege and i will get back to you when i can. God bless. ” she said in her vioce mail. 

“Hi beck. Its keven. I had not from you in a while. I have been prety buisy myself.  I just wanted to check up on you and see how you were doing. Call me when you get a chance.  “He said. Then he hung up.

He did not realize how much he miased her. He loved talking to her.even if they disagreed.  He enjoyed hearing her point if view even if he disagreed with her. 

His dad told had told him that getting a warm fuzzy feeling from a spouse was not the sum total of a relationship between a husband and wife. His dad said that not everyone got those feeling but he did.his mom said the sane thing. His perents said that for them as three relationship grew so did the fuzy feeling. He saw that with Becky.  

He never intended this to happen.  He had never planed to have these feelings. He tried to pretend that they did not exist.  It became clear to him that he did. He kept it to himself. Sarah, his sister has figured it out. Right now becky had her own life. A life very seperate from his. He feared that eventualy they would go there separate ways. He started to think that he would acept that. It she was heading towards that separation.  Maybe he should do the same. 

He considered going to her church’s saterday night service.  He feared that his fellow team members might not aprove. He knew that they might not understand. He decided not to go. He did really miss her. He was a bit mad at himsekf for feeling this way.

He checked his face book. He scrolled down the newsfeed. He looked at several entries.  He liked some and commented on some.  He saw a post from becky. It was a picture of her and some if her friends. Jake had his arm around her. Kevin found that he is a little jellous. He scolded himself. He told her about it after they got together. They laughed about it.

“You were jealous? ” she asked. “I know,  it was not my finest hour. I never said it was rational. “He told her. “It was not my finest hour either. I broke my own rule. I flirted with someone i was prety sure was not God’s will for me. I feel bad for that. I regret that you saw it. That was not right. ” she told him. 

One day after they got maried,it came up. They talked it over. For the most part she had prepared herself for her future husband.  On this day,she had let her gaurd down. She regreted that.

He turned  off facebook. He played dutch blitz with other members of the team. Then his phone rang. He looked at the called id. It was beck.his heart sank. He presed the talk button. “Beck hi! “He said. 

“Hi long time no hear from. “She said. “I have been prety buisy. Despite that i have not stoped thinking about you. Wait that canw out wrong. “Kevin told her.”i know what your trying to say.  I have missed you as well. ” she said “you have?” he asked. “Yes i have.why are you so suprised? “She asked. “I am glad to hear that. “He said “oh ok.” she said.

“How have you been?” he asked. “Good. I have kept myself buisy. I have been involved in various ministries.  Some as a leader, some as a student.  I like it but its kept me buisy. “She said. “I can understand that. ” he said.

“Church was really good. You should have come !”she told him. “I did think about it. Perhaps another time. “He told her. “Your welcome any time.” she told her.  “Thank you.i do know that.  ” he said. 

“I have enjoyed your face book posts. I have been following you extensively.  ” she said. “I suspected as much. I have been enjoyed yours as well. “He said. “You can probably see that i have a silly side. ” she told him. “I picked up on that.  ” he told her.”i will try not to go overboard with it.” she said. ”  oh ok!” he said. 

”  look. I wont take up any more of your time. I lost wanted to hear your vioce. I missed you. “He told her. “It was good to talk to you. I hope to talk to you again very soon. “She said told him. “I look froward to that as well. “He told her.”talk to you again soon. “She said. “Bye for now. ” he said.

“Who was that?” the pastor asked. “Her name is rebecca.  ” he said.  “Oh!” the pastor said. “Its not like that. We were friends.  “He told him. 

“I had a friend like that once.  What was her name? Oh Tiffany.  ” pastor reese asked. “Funy pastor.  It is realy not like that. We are friends. Thats all” he told him.

Kevin felt a lot of mixed emotions that day. That picture of her and jake had rattled him. After seing it,he concluded that he ans Becky was a fantasy he created. It had no bases in reality. Him and becky was sinply not going to happen.  

This was all in his head. That was ok. He fugured he had to move on. It might take time for him to move on. He had to rebound from something that never happen.  

The next week, the church held a v.b.s. This kept him very buisy. It was sucesfull but taxing.  All of the team was tired. On that saterday morning,they passed out copies of john and romans. They took that saterday afternoon off. 

He rested during the afternoon.  He took it easy.  He decided not to check facebook. He was tired.he decided he needed to rest.

“Sarah!  Want to go out for a drive tonight?”he asked.” let me gues a drive that ends up ay sprit of fire church?”she asked. “You caught me sis.” he told her. “Ok we can go. If i get a headache from the worship team i am blaiming you.” she told her.he chuckled.  “Ok deal.uf you do get a headache i will suply the headache mistake.”he told her. “Gee thanks.  ” she said.

He texted Becky.   He told her that she and sarah were coming to the church. She texted him back. She told him to text her when she arived. He told her that he would. Becky parked next to her.

Kevin and sarah got out of the car.Becky then got out of her car. “Hi stranger.  ” becky said.he smiled in a way he never had previously.  “Hi beck. It is so good to see you.” he told her. “I was beginning to think that there was a partial rapture ans Baptist went before us.  ” she told her.  “No!nothing like that.” he responded.

“Hi sarah. It is good to see you again.”rebeca said. “You too becky.”sarah said. The three walked in together.   “You look tired kev.”becky commented. “I am a bit tired.  I am a little tired. I expected that this might be the case. ” keven said.”make you take care of yourself.i dont want you to go down for the count. “She said. They walked towards the maine section of the church.

“I tell him the same thing. He has always been a workaholic.  Dad and the grandpa are the same way.”sarah said. “Know your limitations.  “Rebecca said. Thats good advice.  Mayby he will take it if it comes from you. ” she said.

They went inside and sat down. ” i did not realize i had that effect on him. ,Becky said. “I am prety sure you do. ” sarah said. “Helo i am in the room.” he said. They laughed.

The more time he spent with her,the more he fell in love with her. At the time he did not see it that way. He would later.  He did not all of a suden fall in love with her. It was a slow progression.  It was a series of steps in that direction.  Thr early steps were unnoticed.  After a while it was undeniable.  There was a time in his life he did realize that he was in love with becky.

One day he woke up at 2:00 in the morning. It hit him like a ton if bricks.  That day it all aded up. It all added up. Today he was not quite there.  

The door opened ,a group of friends entered.this included jake.they came over to her. When becky was around jake,she totally changed. Kev found it odd. Sarah picked up on it as well.

“Who is this?”eric asked. “Im sarah.keven’s sister.”she said. Everyone was friendly to them . jake was not rude but ut was different. .

Everything was tense. How could things change so rapidly between those two. He would eventualy understand her personality. He would learn how to relate to her. She had to ajust to him as well. By the time they started to date, they knew how to relate to eachother. 

Kevin stil found the worship time hard to take. He knew how it went.he stil had to ajust in. He figured that he would never fully get use to it. Sarwh could not ubderstand why wirship time incoperated worldly music into it. She tried to muddle though.

Becky figured kevin and his sister found worship time problemetic. She did not understand there views.she respected it. That nighr she looked over at kevin. She wanted to make sure he was ok. She was intreged by him. 

He always like the pastor’s messege.after Kevin and sarah discussed it at length. She found it to be mostly biblicaly based. 

After the service. “Do you want to join us?”becky asked. “Sounds good.”he said.they all walked out together as a group. Kevin saw her get into Jake’s car. Was there something going on between them?he did not to be jellous. He wanted to overcome this. He believed that it was a problem.  He knew he needed the lords help to overcome it. 

“You ok kev?”sarah asked. “Yea im fine. ” keven said.”it might not meen what you thini it meens. “Sarah commented. “I know that”keven said. “You dont have all the information yet. Dont jump to conclusions. “She told her.

“I am an idiot. What am i doing? Why did i actualy think this would work? I feel like i have gone crazy or simething. ” he said. “I have thought as long as i have known you.” she remarked. “Funy!i never should have come tonight. This was a really bad idea. ” he said. 

“Do you want to head back to the command post?” sarah asked.”no i alreqey agreed. It is just one night. Tonight i go home. Forget it ever happened. I let my gourd down.  I have no idea how i will explain this one to my future wife.” he said. 

The car parked at the parking lot of the cofe shop. Everyone got out of there cars. Kevin saw that Kevin and rebecca were being playfull. He tried to ignore it.sarah kept checking on keven. She wanted to make sure he was ok. He wished he had not commited to this. He wished he had realized before this that it was a bad idea. He was commited right now. He decided to keep this commitment.  

Inside the group engage in benign fevolity.  He realized how out of his place he was. He really wished he was not hear. He decided to stay for a little bit then when it was polite to left. He wondered if he left if anyone would notice. 

Everyone got there cofee and snacks to to with it. They all sat down at a table. Kevon could not have been any further but from becky. The conversation was very esoteric. Kevin could not relate to it. He felt so isolated. He saw that the dream if him and becky was just that a dream. He came to see it would not work. He got realy qiet.

“You must feel out numbered?”eric asked. “I have brothers i am use to it. “She said. “You two are the first non penticoastal to be in our group. I think it is a good thing. “He said.”i hope you see it that way.”she said.  “I for one see the need for aome differencecof opinion.”he told her. “I think we can get along.”she said.”i have never had a baptist friend before. ” he said. “We are realy not trying to step on your toes. “She said.”when the reeses arived there was suspicion. I am seing that your not a threat.”he said. 

“We are hear because there is no king james conservitive churches. We are not trying to compete. “Kevon said.”i am starting to see that.  “Eric said. “I am glad we can talk. “Sarah said. “I am too” eric said.

Becky and jake were in a whole different world. The conversation shifted to eric and sarah. Eric tried to get the whole group together. “The reason we are all hear is due to kevin and becky. “Eric said. That satement changed the tone of that evening. 

“Whats that?”Becky asked.”you and Kevin opened the door to all this. You two alowed for this dialog. “Eric said. “Well i am not sure where i fall into all this. Kevin came to the church. I just happened to sit next to him. As i recal i was not at my best.”she said. 

“Its ok. I did not take ofense. “Kevin said. “I am glad to hear that.”becky said. 

“I hope that we can all be friends.”eric said.  “I would like that.  I think we will. “Kevon said “i do too. ” becky said.

After a while ,the group started to disperse.  “Dont be a stranger ok?”eric told sarah and kevin. “I will try not to be.”she told him. They went to the car. 

In the car.  “You ok kev?”sarah asked.”what am i doing sarah? Why did i think i could crack into her world? We are just too different? Mwyby i saw what i wanted to see.i wanted there to be something between becky and i. I might have clues that did not existed. Its not her fault.  She has no obligation to me. We are not together. We never have been. I hate feeling like this.”he said.

“It is a part of life. It will pass. “Sarah said. “I know but until it does pass. Its going to drive me crazy.  “He said.”it will.”Sarah said.”i want to go back to being me. I dont know this kevin.”he said.”your stil are. The core of you is still you. Learn from this.it did not happen in a vacume. The lord will use this. “She said. “I know.”he said.

It was a hard night for keven.he had trouble getting over the stress of the day. Then the phone rang. He saw that it was her. “Hi beck!”he said.”look kev im so sory. I acted badly.  I was so ungodly tonight. I know i hurt you. I am very sory.”she said. 

“I really appreciate hearing from you. I accept your apology. I was hurt. I did not understand it. You meen a great deal to me. I value our friendship beyond my ablity to express. All is forgiven. I want to be in a good place with you. “He told her.

She started to cry. “I do too. I got caught in myself. You saw a nasty side of myself. I am sad you saw it.”she said.  

“Like i said i waa hurt but i am over it now. I am so glad you called.”he said.  

“Your so special to me kev. I font want us ina bad place. “She said.”i dont want that either. “He said.”i want us to be ok!”she said “i love you. I want us to be close no matter what. “He said.”i love you too. Again i am sory”she said. “I firgive you. We are good i promise.”he said.

“Thank you.i willnletbyou go. I did not want to leve things as they were. “She said. “Thank you for caling. Good night.”he said.  He started to cry after he hung up. Despite there isues God kept briging them back.

End of part four

Leave a Reply

