Holding hands part 14

Saterday arived. He had to give lexi an answer today. He finaly made up his mind definitively  on saterday morning. He prayed about it. He was peace. 

Lexi had incisted that whatever he decided, it had to be definitive.  It had to be the final answer. He had agreed.  He was ready. 

 Saterday afternoon he called her. Lexi was in her room. She did not want to answer the phone but she did. She answered the phone. “Hey dare!” she said. 

“Hi lex. Do you want to go to church tonight with me?” derrek asked. “Yes.of course. Do you have an answer?” she asked. “I do. ” he said “i want to hear it tonight on our way to church ok?”she asked. ” ok.” he said.

“I will see you then. ” she said. “You got it.” he said. Then they hung up. She did not do much that Day. She did not have a lot of ambition.she felt weary.  She spent much of her day in her room. 

She changed from a tank top and pajama pants to a yellow short sleve dress.  She put on flip flops. She would wait for him to arive. 

He always wore a suit and tie to his church. At youth group that he was a leader at, he wore a polo shirt. He usualy dressed down wgen he attended her church. He wore a dress shirt and jeens.  He almost changed to khakies but decided he looked fine. 

He said good bye to his family. He got into his car. He drove to her apartment. She was emotionaly exhausted.  She was not her usualy bubbly exerburent self. She kinda dragged herself to do anything.  

She often time waited for him on her steps but not today.  She was stil inside when he pulled in. She just did not have a spring in her step today.she opened the screen door and walked to the car.

“Look if the answer is no lets just part ways and that will be that!” she said “what? No the answer is yes. I am in!” he said. 

There was a single tear that ran down her cheak. ” really?” she asked. “Yes. Really hunnie!” he answered. He wraped his arms around her and hugged her. He had ment it to be a quick hug. She would not let him go. She held on to him for a bit. 

“Ok im ready!” she said.he started the car. The car left his driveway. “Your totaly in. Your one hundred percent in this? ” she asked. “Yes i am. I dont totaly understand it. I do believe the lord had brought us together. I believe the lord is glorified by us being together. I believe that saten wins if we are not. That does not totaly make sence to me but i do believe that.” he told her. 

“Ok i just had to make sure!” she said. The car arived at thr church parking lot. He parked the car. ” hey do you want to go out for cofee at our usual spot after the service?” she asked.” yes! Absolutely! ” she said. 

She realy wanted to just sit and talk to  him.  She felt like she had a lot to talk about. She felt like they really needed to talk and talk soon.they needed to have a deep and meaningful conversation.   They had a lot to figure out and work out. 

They both got of the vehicle. She took her hand. They walked hand in hand into the church. ” i like the outfit tobight. Jeens and dress shirt works for you . ” she said. ” thanks. ” he said.

They went to the sanctuary.  They sat next to tom and denise and there family. “It is good to see you two together. ” tom said. They smiled at him and then at eachother.   

During the worship time she raised one hand. She would not let go of him.she felt insicure that day. She was not leting him go. 

He sang along.he knew most of the songs now.  He would not dance. Some times he found himself swaying but when he realize it he stoped. She laughed st him. She loved it. He was the funniest when he was not trying.  She found his old fashoned ways to be endearing.  

She observed that he was reserve. He was pasive. He was traditional. She believed that she could bring him out of her shek. She did not want to change him . she liked how he was. She wanted him to stay conservitive in most things.  She wanted him to calm down in orthers. She was becoming king james prefered.she wore pants but saw that dreses or skirts were probably more famine.  She hoped he would moderate on other isues like music. She hoped he could go to a set point on these isues. She did not want to change him just calm him down on a few isues. 

He watched her. She was silly at times. Totally the oposite of him in many words. She seemed to be bold.she had little inhibitions.  She never sat stil.  He pictured her always dancing always swaying.  Always with a song on her heart if not on her lips. The perpetual optimist. Almost poly anish but with a touch of realism. Perhaps they were even eachother out he thought. 

During the worship time, he wondared if the lord could realy take him and her two people who seemed hopelessly and terminaly incompatible and make them truely one flesh? Then it dawned on him that he already had. 

After the service ,they went to there usual place for cofee. She was fairly qiet. “Are you upset with me?”he asked. “A little. She answered. 

“I kinda figured. “He answered.”i love you. I want to spend the rest of my life with you.  I am a little upset with you. Why did you drag this our for two weeks? This should not have taken you five minutes.  Either you want to be with or you dont.if you dont feel it, you dont feel it.” she said.

“Its not that simple. I want to be with yoy.i had to make sure it was God’s will. ” he said.”you baptist. Its all logic. Platonic Christianity.  It is anlitical. It is all acdemic. Do you not feel anything?  “She asked. 

“This is the bigest decison of our lives. Logic has to come into it. ” he said.”you canot dismiss feelings entirely as well!” she told her. ” i know that.  ” he said.

“I want you to want this. I want you to want to be with me. I want you to blow you away. I want you to love me as much as i love you! Your too buisy running statistical anylises to see the forest from the trees!” lexi told him. 

“I do love you. I do want to want to be with you. Thats who i am. I am anytical. Mayby i do psycho analize everything .  ” she told him. 

“”I know you would perfer i be if.b. i have been completely honest with you. I wont change my views on tonges unless i am convinced by the bible.  I am wiling to go to your church and embrace most of independent baptist. Is it not enough i can go to your church all the time and go to myine on Saterday and mid week. ” she said. 

” no i dont mind how we have it! Now” he said. “Look your aloud to tell me how you feel?” she said. ” this is how i feel. ” he told her. ” ok. “She said. 

“Im sory this is not how i wanted tonight to go. I want us to be happy. I want us to enjoy eachother.  ” she said. ” i am happy. I do enjoy you. I do want this. ” he said. 

” are you totaly in? Are you one percent in?” she asked. ” yes absolutely.  ” he answered. ” i am sory.i feel realy insicure tonight. I do trust you. I missed you. These last two weeks were horible. Lets never do this ever again. Ok? Lets be apart like this ! I am upset but i stil love you. I want to know you.  I want to realy know you. Please let me in. Break down those walls of yours ok?” she asked.

“Ok. No more walls. These last two weeks were terible. I agree lets never do that again. I missed you too. ” he said. 

“You were so funny tonight!” she said “me?” he asked. “You were swaying. Well until you realized you realized you were doing it and then you stoped.  It was cute!” she said. 

“You were cute yourself. ” he said smiling. ” how so?” she asked. ” its hard to explain. Your just are. My penticostal preee fiancĂ©e! ” he said. ” i like the sound of that. ” she said.  

“Im really sory. I did not consider you like i said. I did not take your feelings into acount. I messed up big time. Im sorry. ” he said. 

“I forgive you. Thank you.”she said.”i did up walls. I gues i only let you get so far. “He said. “No more walls? Will you let me in?” she asked. “Yes i will. No more walls. ” he said. “Ok good. I am not upset anymore. I might have overeacted. These two weeks made me weary. Leta never do this again. Even if its hard lets see eachother every day. In person or phone but lets keep the lines of communication open.”she said.  “Ok agreed “he said. 

“Do you really see us as pre enganged?”she asked. “I do. Do you see see is that way? “He asked. She smiled. “Yes i do. ” she said. 

They left the cofee shop holding hands. They got into the car . There Eyes met. He drove her home. He walked her to het steps.

He hugged her. She held on to him. He kissed her on the cheak.  “I will see you tomorrow hunnie!” she said. “You got it. I love you lex!”he said. “I love you dare!” she said. She went inside smiling.  He drove off. 

He knew how he felt. He knew how much he loved her. He was glad that he had met her. She would change his life, she already had. He believe he changed hers as well. He was excited to begin there life togather. 

End of part 14

Next up 

Derrek and lexi have a lot of heart to heart talks. 

Leave a Reply

