Only a matter of time part ten

Previously on a matter of time.

Kevin and a group from a fundamental baptist college come to aid a new church plant. There he meets a penticoastal naimed becky. 

Despite a difficult start, becky and kevin becane friends. At first she waa reluctent to date him, she changed her mind. 

He went to find his sister. “You look happy! ” sarah remarked. “I am. I don’t get it but i really like her. I am going to call her dad and ask him for permison to formerly court her. ” he told her. “I am happy for you.  I know you wanted this to happen for a while. ” she said. 

“I realy have. I realy think that she might be my future wife.  It does not totaly make sense. Perhaps it does not have to. ” he said. “Perhaps it does not. I am happy for you too. I realy am. ” sarah said.  “Thanks sarah. ” he said. 

“I am glad to see like this. I really am. I knew someday you would find someone.  I figured it was only a matter of time. Never thought it would be a penticostal girl. I realy like her never the less. ” sarah said. “Thanks i do too. ” he said. 

Becky went home and called her dad. “Hi dad. ” she said. ” hi becky. ” he said.”look dad i wanted to give you heads up that you will probably get a call from a young man tomorrow or in the next couple of days!” she told him.

“Is this about what i think it is pumpken?” her dad asked. ” i am afraid so dady. ” she admited. ” do you want me to say yes?” he asked. “I do. I realy like him. He is in bible school. He wants to be a pastor. He is hevily involved in a church. ” she told him. 

“He is a Baptist isn’t he?” he asked. “Yes he is.” she answered. “Well at least he is not a punk rocker i suppose or a presbiterian. You like him?” he asked.

“I realy do. He is a really sweet guy. ” she said. “No one has called me before asking permision to court you. Is there a sugnificance to that?” he asked. “I realy think there is. ” she told him. ” i had a feeling that was the case. ” he said. 

“Will you say yes?” she asked. He laughed and said ” ok!” he said.  “Thanks dady. ” she said. 

She never not expected that this would be how today would go. She remembered this day aw a huge turning point for her life. It was not just for her life but his as well. The begging of them moving closer to being a family.  This was when it realy started to take shape. 

He was nervous for the next day.  He was nervous about talking to her farther. He was also excited. Things were starting to take shape in a way he never thought posible. He was excited about that. 

He fell asleep imaging his life with her. There life together. He was excited about God would do with and though them. 

The next morning keven was a little preoccupied.  He was very qiet at breakfast. “Hi kev. Is everything ok?, pastor resse asked. “Yes it is. I am going to call Becky’s farther and ask his permison to date her. ” he responded. 

“Oh. I remember caling Tiffany’s farther. I was so nervous. I stil get nervous thinking about it. I am not sure what was harder , the first time i called him or asking him for permison to perpose mariage? Both times i was Prety sure he would say yes. Stil it was Prety nurve racking. ” the pastor said. 

“I have never met him or spoke to him before.  “He told him. “Just be respectfull. Dont be too nervous. This is a positive thing. Perental involvement is a good thing.  Dont swet this too much kev. I am sure it will be fine. ” pastor rease said. 

He waited til later on in the morning. He took a breath and dieled the number. “Helo this is pastor mike. ” he said. “Hello pastor this is kevon wakefield.” he told him.

” yes i have been expecting your call. Becky told me you might call. ” the pastor said. “I am calling to ask your permission to formerly court your daughter. ” he told her. 

Pastor mike had a reputation for being a bit of a prankster. He was tempted to have a little fun with this.he decided that that would not be fair. He decided to be on his best behavior at least for on this occasion. 

“Well! I apreciate you calling me. I see no reason not to say yes. You have my permission.  ” he said.”thank you sir. I apreciate that. ” he told the older man. “I am looking froward to meeting you in person. ” the pastor said.

“As am i.” the younger man said . Despite there theological differences, kevin and his future father in law got along famously.  They became very close. They enjoyed each other’s style of humor. Kevin learned how to navigate though his pratical jokes. 

He was so excited after he talked to her dad. He sent a relationship request to becky. He put as a message to her that he had his constent to court her. She saw the mesege while on her break from the flower shop. She clicked yes on the face book request. She knew he would say yes. She was still excited now that it happened. 

It started to feel real. It sank it that sje wod one day marry this man. Despite her fears and concerns she was happy about it.  She was really happy about it. 

Kevin called his dad later that day. “Hi dad. ” he told him. ” hi kev “his dad said. “I called Becky’s dad. I got his formal permission to date her.”he said.”your mom and i thought that might be coming. Congradulations son.”he said. 

“Thanks.  I am prety excited myself”he said. “She seemed like a nice girl. We were  inpresed when she came over. “Dad said. “I really like her. “He said. “Your mom and i can tell.”he said. 

He texted her later. “Hi hunnie,do you want to go out for dinner tonight? “He asked her. She texted back.”yes!” with a series of explination points. 

She got out of work at five.  She changed into a pink t shirt and skirt and flip flops. She then waited for him to arive. She huged him. She held on to him for.  few minutes. 

At the restaurant.  “I am really excited for us.”she said. “I am too. I want you to know that i want to work all this out together. I am not a dictator.  I am not a my way or the highway kind of guy. I want us to be an independent baptist family. I want you to be fully persaded in your mind. I want try to undermine your view on tounges. I want you free to be your best for God. I know that that is your wish as well. “He said.

“”I trust you . i meen that. I know that you love the lord. I know you love me.”she said. 

“This is not going to be easy. I think we both know that. This may be one of the hardest things we ever do. I firmly beleve that the lord has brought us togather. I know if we submit to him,we can make this work. “He said. 

“I am thought that for a while myself. I was afraid. Its scary. I just wanted to run form it. I wish that i had it all together. This is a bit of a slip up for me.  I had had a personal revival right before i went to college. I have taken a few steps back. That was not how i wanted ot to go. I wanted to have it together and then to meet you. “She said. 

“I know God is working in your life. I know your sensitive to the things of the lord. I am sure he has begun a good work in you and will complete it. Your not afraid of rebuke or introspection.  We are never going to be one hundred percent this side of eternity. The lord wants us to grow. I think when we beleve we are at our worse is when he says ‘ok i can use you now. ‘ “he said 

“You seam to have it all together. “She said. “If only that were true. I a not eve close . i fought with the lord before i made the decison to bible school. I felt a burden to start this misson trip hear. I wanted to work  at a camp that i have worked at for a few sumers. I wanted to work at the camp . it would  have been my fouth sumer there. I had  a fruitfull ministry there. That was my comfort zone.  I knew this was where i should be. I almost did not come hear. I know about struggle. I know about the drive to compromise.   I understand it. None of us are immune to it. We are all siners saved by grace. ” he told her. 

“I know that. At the time what i was doing made total sense. I did not see it as sin. I do now. I am weary from it. ” she said. 

“I understand.  I have been there. I cant believe you think i am this super christian. I am not. You know i never told anyone thar story. I realize from this trip that i love church planting. I love preaching.  I am excited to see this church starting to be established and built up. I also realize that i know who my wife is now. ” he said. 

She smiled in a way he had never seen her smile before. “Do you have any doubts about us?”she asked.  “No i dont. I believe with all my heart that the lord brought us togather.  ” he said. 

She smiled. That was the moment that she decided that she would commit herself to the lord and to him.she was now ready to comit to all of this. 

After dinner they walked hand in Hand to the car. He knew she was different.  This was a turning point for her. He drove her home. 

He hugged her. Both hung on to eachhother for a few seconds. “I love you. ” she told him. He smiled.”i love you beck. ” he said. 

She walked to the apartments.  He drove off. Things started to make sense to him. 

End of part ten.

Next up.

Becky gets more involved in his church. He gets involved in hers. There worlds start to murge. 

Leave a Reply

