Only a matter of time part 11

Previously on a matter of time.

Keven is a young bible colege student that led a missons trip to a smal town . his team was assigned to help a new church plant get nore established.  

While there he met a young women naimed becky. Becky was a penticostal. They became friends.  He wanted to date her. She was reluctent at first but finaly agreed to date him.

What now? How would they make it work? How would they leaen to relate to eachorther? Now they had to work at making this relationship work. 

On a saterday, the church that Kevin and his team were helping had a work day. Keven asked her to come. She arived. They all went to a meeting place outside the church. The plan was to do yard work, panting and general cleaning. 

Becky voluntered to cleen windows and doors. She got windex and started cleaning the windows. She was a detail person. 

“Hi becky.”Kevin’s sister sarah said. “Hi sarah!”Becky said. “I am glad you could come today.” sarah said. “I am glad i did too. ” she said. “He really likes you!” she said. “I know he does. ” becky said.

After cleaning windows she helped rake outside. She liked talking to everyone while she worked.  She feared being out of place. She did not feel that way at all. She felt at home. 

“Hi im tifini the pastor’s wife.”she said. “Hi. Its good to finaly meet you! Kevin thinks the world of both of you. “She said. “We think the world of him. He has ment alot to this church. He is going to be missed when he and the team leaves. They have been a huge blessing and encouragement. “Tifini said.

“I can definently see that.  They are all very mature. “She said. “We are glad they came. ” tifiani said. 

At lunch. “So what was kevin like as a roomate at colege?” Becky asked. “Well i was the uperclassman. His side of the room was emaculate. He would pass a white glove test.  My side aleays passed. It was never quite to hus standards. “The pastor said.

“I used to tiddy up his side. He was not a huge fan of. ” Kevin said. ” that was a bit of an undersatement. ” the pastor said. ” has he always been a neat freak?” becky asked. “As long as i can remember he has been “His sister sarah said.  “I will keep that in mind. ” she said. Everyone laughed. 

“In all seriousness,he was a good roomate. He and i had some really conversations.  ” the pastor said. “I think we edified eacother.” kevin said. “I feel that way myself. “Kevin said.  

The afternoon they got ready to pass out copies of john and romans. Becky agred go acompony Kevin’s group. “Basially we put them out in mail boxes. We do have a contact number and ditections to the church. The focus is to give out the gospel. We want to get the gospel to everyone in the seronding area. We dont set out to talk to people. On ocasions we stop and talk. Once and a whilr we get assed what we are doing. Wr try not to be pushy. “Kevin said. 

They split into groups. Becky teemed up with sarah. They put the pamphlet into mail boxis or on porches or inside the door. 

They met back and went to the next street. They were able to hit several streets. They talked to a few people. There were no decisons for Christ for there were some that seemed verry open. Two would end up attending and would be saved later. They became an intergral part of the church.  It was a productive day. 

They returned to the pastors house and changed to get ready to go to her church.  “You ok going to my church after spending the day with a fundamental church?” she asked. “I will be ok. ” he said. She chuckled. 

Sarah wanted to come as well.  They walked to her car. They went into the building. They walked to the auditorium.  They saw a group of her friends including eric.  They sat down. 

“Hi sarah. ” eric said. “Hi eric. ” she said. They sat down. During the worship  time, she did what she always did. She raised her hands and she danced. He recognized some of the words.  He sang a bit but was mostly still. 

After they went out for cofee. Eric came too as did orther friends. After they drove back to where he was staying.  

“It was so nice to spend the day with you.  It was nice to see you doing ministry along side me. It was nice to see you in action.  I love we got to be in both worlds today. “He said. 

“I had a good day too. I enjoyed hanging out with you and doing ministry together.  I enjoyed watching you in ministry. ” she told him. 

“I enjoyed watching you pass out john Romans.  ” he said. ” i enjoyed that myself.  I enjoyed working along side you in ministry. I look froward to doing it more. ” she said. “I do too. ” he said. 

“So do you want me to become independent fundimental Baptist?  How do i fit in to all this?” she asked. “I am not trying to change you. I realy like how you are. I love your bubily outgoingness. I don’t intend for you to go all out i.f.b. i dont want you to change your views to conform to me. You have to follow what you believe based upon your study of scripture.  I want you to be captive to the word of God. I think you can fit in in my world. ” he said.

“Do i have to wear dreses all the time? Listen to only hyims and never speak in tounges?” she asked. “No. As i said i want to be subject to what you are fully convinced is Gods word. I never set out to marry a penticostal. Im crazy about you bec. ” he said. 

“I like who i am . i like where i am. I believe in penticostal theology. I believe in tounges and phrophecy. I like contenperary christian music. I dont see things like you do. I feel you want me to become you. I am not sure i can. ” she said.

 “I am really not trying to change you. I dont expect you to become me. I want you to be you. The truth is i just want to be with you. I am totaly enursed in i.f.b culture. I do fully believe that it is best. I want to start churches for the unchurched. I want to go to comunities that dont have much gospel witness. I gues i have expectations for my future wife.  I have had to modify them. I gues i have to continue to modify them. I dont want to be what is it the borg?”he asked.

 “I will be asimilated. Recistence is futile?” she asked.he chuckled. “I am new at this. I dont know what im doing. Lets talk about this. Lets work at this!” he said. ” ok! ” she said.

He hugged her. She held on to him. “Kev i’m crazy about you. “She said. “I know. ” he said. He watched her leave. 

End of part 11

Next up.

Kevin and becky go to a newsboys concert. 

Leave a Reply

